My Mentor, My Friend

In office, it was my first day
Things seemed depressingly gray.
I was confused, in total disarray
Felt lost, unable to find a way

The workload made me insecure
I felt helpless to my soul’s core.
Criticized, victimized me like never before
I simply couldn’t handle it anymore.

But you came, like a shining knight
As my mentor, you entered my life.
Amidst my darkness, you were my light
For even in pain, you made me smile.

Whenever I felt, I’d reached a dead-end
My shattered hopes, you used to mend.
And I don’t know how or when
From my mentor, you became my friend.

The sight of “Sidharth typing” on skype
Might have given you headaches & teary eyes.
I credit your patience, for my professional rise
& for my deadly questions, I do apologize.

Reminiscently, I recall the times we had
The good ones & even the bad.
Guiding me, you always held my hand
My troubles, you sincerely tried to understand.

Now.. I bow in respect as we part
Please keep me… somewhere in your heart.
I’ll cherish you in the future, present & past
Beyond the office, may our bond forever last.

 

Mentors1

Note: I’m on the brink of joining a new organization & was reminiscently thinking of the times I had at my last workplace. This poem is dedicated to my mentors who believed in me even when I myself had lost faith in my capabilities. It wasn’t a pleasure cruise when I started my job at my last employer, I was haunted by a sense of insurity, but the people in the picture mentored me at different stages of my professional & personal life. I strongly believe that it’s due to their unflinching patience, their unconditional support & love towards me that propelled me beyond my true potential. The way they blessed me with their understanding sparked a positive change within me, I may have joined the organization as a helpless & insure person but thanks to my mentors I’m leaving the organization as a confident & dependable man.Working in my new organization I hope to touch other people’s lives the way my mentors touched mine. I would also like to thank some of my other colleagues (Sachi, Ashish, Krishna, Ritu & Ankit) for their heart rendering support towards me. 

32 thoughts on “My Mentor, My Friend

  1. Sidharth, this is very touching & beautiful.
    It was a fantastic journey from have guiding you to finally work with you!
    Cheers to all the ‘panic before the meetings’, Skype sessions, khuchro paap, and of course the all-nighters!
    Very best wishes for all your future endeavours! May you enjoy all the success you deserve!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol yes thanks for your guidance and support, I had promised you that I will write a poem for you 😊 Thanks for the well wishes, wish you more & better in the future, do stay in touch 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel blessed by the generosity of my dear followers like you. Your kind words gift me a rare smile & the feeling of my gratitude towards you can’t be described in words. All I can say is I’m truly grateful to you for your affection & support, please feel free to explore any of my past writings according to your convenience. It’s good hearted followers like you that are the very heartbeat of this blog. I sincerely hope that I never let your expectations down with any of my future posts 🙂

        Warm Regards,
        Sidharth

        Like

    1. Yea it was just a small effort of expressing my gratitude towards them, for I know that I can never repay them for the way they contributed towards my development as a human in general. Thanks Sakshi for your lovely inputs 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey! I really like the way you play with words and you structure your posts! I went through quite a few but i loves this one most as actually i am very lucky to have few mentors in my life that gave me very valuable lessons. Not only at work but also in private life! I think it is impossible to have mentor in order to become one in the future and this is my goal. Great reading and great blog! Have a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kla for your heart warming compliment for my post, Im glad to know that like me you too were blessed with mentors that were extremely supportive towards you, Lastly, I have to confess the spirit of explorer that resides within you has inspired me to a great extent to look at life from a different perspective. I’m sure that you’ll be a flawless mentor in someone else’s life and I feel that you’ll touch their life in such a positive way that you yourself won’t be able to imagine. Keep smiling, keep exploring and keep touching lives my dear friend, I stay indebted to your kind words. Wish you have a glorious evening ahead. 😊

      Like

      1. I see myself as a student, a keen learner rather than a preacher. I try to possess a sense of humility in my heart I intend to learn & understand the various aspects of life from people around me, be it my supervisors or my subordinates. The ability to learn from others with humility and have a desire to establish direct heart to heart bonds with others are the basic pillars that lays the foundation for good mentorship so I guess I’m still in the process. I’m truly humbled by the kindness of your words it’s a delightful experience as always to interact and exchange ideas with you Kla. Hope you have a day that is as glorious as your graceful words 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a wonderful dedication. I’m sure you’ll continue to leave an impact on the lives of others, be it through your writings or at work. All the best in your new workplace! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My mentors propelled my capabilities, they believed in me when I myself didn’t believe in my abilities. I know I can never repay them for what they have done for me, so making this poem to express my gratitude towards them was the least I could do. I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

