My Superhero Dad

In darkness, you held my hand
My insecurities, you used to understand.
You made me smile, even when I was sad
You truly were my superhero dad.

You comforted me & listened to my fears
Made sure, I remained a stranger to tears.
Things looked good even when they were bad
You truly were my superhero dad.

Against life’s brutal attacks
You always had my back.
But sometimes, I made you sad
Sometimes I failed as a child towards you, dad.

In teenage radically, things changed
As with other things, I got engaged.
That phase, I might have made you sad
I failed to appreciate you, my superhero dad.

Even in pain, for my sake you smiled
I feel privileged be your child.
Reminiscently, I recall the past days we had
You will always be my superhero dad.

Now blinded with tears, to you I say
Dad I look up to you everyday.
I’m sorry if I ever made you sad
You will always be my superhero dad.

 

Note: Any man can reproduce with a woman to have kids, but it takes a special man with strong moral value to raise up his child & be regarded as a ‘father’. To me my father was no less than any superhero for me because not only did he nurture me emphasizing on the importance of moral values in life, but also he was there to rescue me from the various troubles of my life. Although my dad isn’t alive now I still hold on to his memories …some bonds aren’t so fragile that they can be decimated by death. Anyway on Fathers’ day I respect the spirit of universal fatherhood that stands as a symbol of courage & being unconditionally dependable  towards their children. Lastly I personally feel we must not just merely appreciate our dads, instead we must also possess the humility to apologize to our dads for any intentional/unintentional action or statement that might hurt them in anyway. Happy Fathers Day to everyone! ❤

10498656_10204299299191467_1408109857328485642_o

66 thoughts on “My Superhero Dad

    1. As I said in my poem for me it was a have him as my dad. I do miss my dad sometimes but I recall that his spirit lives & breathes within me I too had teary eyes when I was writing this poem so I’m immensely thankful to you for giving me & my poem to connect with you on such kind of emotional level that you the magnitude of emotions that I felt while writing this poem❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The kindness of my lovely readers like you acts like fuel that keeps the fire of my passion towards writing burning always, thanks for the support and the generosity of your feedbacks 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  1. So touching ! You used the prefect words to describe this bond. I wish all fathers could read this, especially ones who choose to not be around their children. We need to spread this love. I really enjoyed this piece. Keep it up 🖤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the kind words, I feel it should also be read by the younger generation as well so that they too can introspect their behavior towards their fathers & reflect whether they gave their fathers the respect they deserve or not. I believe that on days like fathers day we must not only appreciate our dads for what they have done, but also conceive a sense of understanding to apologize if at all we ever hurt their feelings in the past.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The pleasure was mutual my friend, i was touched by the comment that you look forward to reading my next post, I’ll try my level best to put up a new poem soon but in the meantime you can always read my previous poems as well thanks for your readership dear friend 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all, I want to say thank you. From the bottom of my heart thank you for this beautifully touching piece. I love my father dearly and I remind myself each and every day to cherish him as much as I can right now, at this moment. For tomorrow is not guaranteed. This post really moved me. I could sense how genuine, authentic, and how real your feelings were when you wrote this. Thabk you for sharing this. It was incredible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww I’m touched by the honesty of your feedback, your feedback really made my day and I’m glad my poem could connect with your life may you & your father eternally stay happy 😊. Thanks for your generous feedback and readership

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very beautifully written and such an amazing poem. I’m lucky enough to still have my Dad in my life and I appreciate him so much. I also strive to be the best Dad I can be to my son. His mother and I are divorced, but I try to be as much a positive influence as I can be to him. Thank you for sharing this poem – it really touched my heart!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truly delighted with the way as a reader you were able to connect with this poem of mine! Thanks for your readership and your kind words. I’m glad it touched you and I’m sure you’ll be a great dad for your son, I’m sure your son would appreciate the way you want to raise him with such incorruptible love. I certainly hope that you & your family smile like the way I’m smiling right after reading such positive feedback from you 😊

      Like

    1. Well on the bright side atleast your dad is alive & u can still reach out to him whenever you feel like, celebrate the bond you have with him 😊 I’m glad you could connect with the poem

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea this poem is really close to my heart, I vividly recall me tearing up after finishing this poem as I reminiscently recalled the bond I shared with my dad, thanks for expressing the goodness of your feedback in such a blissful way 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes just like the notes I write for my readers towards the end of all my posts, the rhyme to is an integral part of all my poems because I feel that if I can construct a rhyme then I can appeal to readers pertaining to all age groups. Thanks for your kind feedback Pravarthika 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

