The Knife

I remember that wretched night
When in darkness, bitterly, I cried
& at my despair, my demons smiled
That helpless night…. I had a knife.

I questioned my existence’s purpose
As I felt like a hopeless clown in a circus.
Corrupted by the problems of my life
That helpless night…. I had a knife.

With tears streaming from my eyes
On my nerve, I placed the knife.
Like a bee yearns nectar, from a bud
The knife yearned the taste of my blood.

I had a dark desire to use the knife
But flashed before me my mother’s eyes.
I slowly realized, my life could impact other lives
& this decimated the seduction of the knife.

I understood the value of my life
As amidst the pain, I learnt to smile.
For others, I decided to rise
That night….. I threw away the knife.

 

Note: From the depths of darkness & depression, our life gets plagued by negative thoughts. I admit I too had suicidal thoughts few years ago. So this poem is a slight peek into my past & also hopes to serve as a message to anyone who might be going through a similar traumatic struggle. To me every life counts, no matter how depressing the situation might be always remember that your mere existence is the reason as to why someone smiles. So why indulge in an act that replaces, that “someone’s” smile with tears of despair?  The knife in this poem is not just an entity but the very embodiment of suicidal thoughts that corrupt & stab the very soul of a depressed person. I urge all my readers to be understanding & compassionate towards the troubles that anyone around them faces. Please show the troubled souls that you care, so that none ever picks up a knife due to depression & helplessness. 

 

45 thoughts on “The Knife

    1. Yes just tried to express the fact that every life does count & that even if we feel that our existence is a worthless struggle we still must understand that certain lives depend on our existence. If not for ourselves then atleast for those lives we mustn’t give up, thanks for your readership and valuable feedback ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking out time to go through my poem, I’m glad you could relate to it. I’m sorry that in the past you had to go through such kind of phase I’m glad you emerged out of it, but if at all you ever are haunted by any such negative feelings then please feel free to reach out to me. I’d be happy to lend you moral support ☺️ thanks for such a heart warming feedback

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m grateful to you for your readership & valuable thought , I couldn’t have agreed more with you regarding the fact that every life is priceless in it’s own respective way πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for following I look forward to going through your posts in the near future as well , stay in touch Meher for the generosity of your words certainly made my heart swell with joy πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes we all stumble & fall, haunted by a feeling of loneliness & despair in life, but what matters is how we intend to crawl back up are that fall. What matters is how we seek wisdom from our misery, thanks taking out time to share such lovely feedback 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I feel that the note at the end of my writings is a way through which my readers can understand and relate to my thought behind my poems thanks for decorating my blog with your sweet words 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Absolutely beautiful. Thank you for this post. It’s so hard to drag yourself out of the depths of despair and people who are depressed one way or another do it daily.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you, & the fact that I personally dived into the very depths of depression and darkness due to the various events in my life made me understand the true essence of the emotional struggle that had enveloped me. So just thought of writing this poem for anyone who would be going through a similar psychological struggle. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I must say it is a spectacular piece of art. The words resonate with the heart at a deep, under-the-surface level. I am glad you found the immense courage required to β€˜throw away the knife’. Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes that was the motivate of the poem that not only exhibiting that something good be created while going through a depressing phase in life but also the fact that everyone should value their existence as other lives are impacted by our own existence. So I hope that someone who is going through a similar psychological struggle too values their lives and “throws away the knife”. Thanks Michelle for expressing such heart warming thoughts, I’m indebted to your kindness really πŸ˜ŠπŸ’™

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your readership and support truly thankful for such a pleasing response to one of my darkest writings, guess if the emotions engraved in a poem are true then even a depressing entity can be made to appear as something good 😊 truly humbled by your generosity πŸ’™

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m delighted that you took out time to go through this poem, I was insanely depressed in that phase of my life, but just happy that I was able to portray my tears of the past that they instill hope & gives a powerful message to others. Thanks a ton for your kind words πŸ’™

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry to know that you had a troubled past but you should be proud of the way you overcame that. Please never every harm yourself again & try to extend a helping hand to anyone going through a similar emotional struggle. May you always smile as big as river Nile ❀

      Like

  3. Achingly tormented in its beauty. Like a moonlight casting in the darkness. I, too, have struggled with depression and its silent movement and by the time you see it, it is too late and the fight begins. Thank you for the post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

