The Howling Wolf

One mystic full moon night
When the stars sparkled bright,
I witnessed a delightful sight
Of a wolf emerging in moonlight.

He walked with a scarred face
Yet he had charismatic grace.
With pride  the wolf held his head high
As he stared the moon in the sky.

The wolf was banished from his pack
On him, everyone turned their backs.
Loneliness had corrupted wolf’s every bone
He howled from his bleeding soul, alone.

Although fate oppressed him, he never bowed
From his spirit to the moon he howled.
He howled in agony very bitterly
Expressed the depths of his misery.

The wolf seemed like a saint in the dark
Who secretly expressed the pain of his heart.
His howl was eternal & pure
A manifestation of sorrow that he endured.

The howl was symbolic of past struggles
& his determination to overcome his troubles.
Though alone, but the wolf wasn’t weak
For his endurance & fortitude was mystique.

The wolf that night, made me realize
From our loved ones, we might get despised.
In life bonds break, as compassion dies
Yet walking alone, we should strive to rise.

 

maxresdefault

Note: Being a victim of bad times, there have been times when many loved ones had turned their backs on me. Nothing annihilates the soul more than seeing the emotion love in eyes of people (whom you value), getting replaced by an emotion of hatred. It’s emotionally torturous when someone says you can count on them & they turn their backs on you, abandoning you in a helpless state. Through the medium of this poem I have used the symbol of the wolf’s  howl to express that helplessness & tried to portray it as an act of defiance & fortitude. So never feel broken if anyone turns their back on you, stay true to yourself & don’t be afraid to walk alone if need be, for in life on a tight rope we all must walk alone in order to take a stand for what we believe in. 

23 thoughts on “The Howling Wolf

    1. I’m doing great thanks for your concern bro & don’t be sad thinking about the past I’m sure your ex will regret loosing out on a great guy like you, anyway keep your head up I’m sure you’ll get the girl of your dreams soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Technically iam afraid of wolf and ghosts but your poem is neither of those. A sad empathy speaks from it . Amazingly written Sid .keep writing like this. And those who left in the time of need , the hell with them 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are times when one ought to stand strong and tall, all alone..! Though it always gets a bit easier when you have someone to pick you up..! A well expressed poem out here..! Keep up..
    I would also add that I like the way you end up your post with a note on the circumstances or significance of why and what you writing..!! 🙂
    And there goes a follow..looking forward to reading more from here on..!! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I agree with you that it’s easier when someone is there with you, but I personally feel that it’s equally important to take a stand & walk alone if need be rather than being a part of a group that is directionless. Yea I do write a note at the end of all my writing because I feel that if a reader is taking out their valuable time to go through my post then I should provide them with a small insight behind the creation of that respective post. I’m touched by the way you decorated this post with your kind words & thoughts, really appreciate your support and generosity 😊💙

      Liked by 1 person

    1. To be honest it was not all that hard for me to connect with the image of the lone wolf. Don’t get me wrong I don’t intend to brag, it’s just that somewhere deep down like the lone wolf I was haunted by a feeling of loosing out the people I care about & as the wheel of time carelessly moved on the people I cared about gradually turned their backs on me and left me, but sadly that insecurity didn’t leave me. It is as this juncture of my existence when I realized that I am self sufficient to be the architect of my own happiness. So yea you can say that the lone wolf is kind of a depiction of the circumstances at my end & my outlook to life in general. Thank you so very much for blessing my blog with your generous words. Your generous words really made my day Lulia ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I always try to convey something with my words to my readers. That’s one reason as to why I always highlight a special note for my readers at the end of every poem of mine so that in case I fail to connect with the readers based on my rhymes then hopefully the words in that special note can convey what I intended to say. I’m glad you could relate to my posts. Thanks for your valuable feedback & readership 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

