Scars

I realize, the hidden sadness in your eyes
I hear, your soul’s lament, as it cries.
Alone at night, under the scattered stars
I see, you trying to hide your scars.

Your scars, remind of your past
You fear that, they’ll forever last.
Tears, stream down from your face
You cry bitterly, thinking you’re a disgrace.

The bloodΒ  in your veins, becomes cold
Your helpless heart, changes into a stone.
You fight your depression, on your own
I know, what’s it like to cry alone.

I empathize, with your immeasurable pain
But don’t give up, things will change.
From the core of my soul, to you I say
Even with scars, you’re beautiful in your own way.

Your existence, is bigger than your scars
In dark, you too, shall shine like the stars.
Your scars, can’t corrupt your inner grace
So replace your tears, with a smile, on your face.

None has ever walked in your shoes
So don’t care, about their judgemental views.
Value yourself, to yourself, you remain true
Don’t do things, you know that, you shouldn’t do.

Let me, kiss your scarred hand
Let me, show you I understand.
From the core of my soul, to you I say
Even with scars, you’re beautiful in your own way.

fdd6bbda7fb5b690c80dedb0fb1303e5

Note: If a person is physically injured some people do care about that person but sometimes when a person is going through psychological problems like depression, anxiety, etc almost everyone gets indifferent towards the agony of that person. To be honest I myself was on the verge of harming myself few years ago, so I know how overwhelming the emotional turmoil can be sometimes. This poem is for anyone who has ever faced any kind of sadness or depression in their lives. It’s easy to judge & mock at anyone’s misery but it takes real skill to take out time to heal each other. I request my readers to be compassionate towards people who are going through any kind of psychological problem. Don’t be disgusted at the sight of their scars, instead see them as spaces through which you can reach out to their souls with your love. Β 

86 thoughts on “Scars

    1. I had gone through depression my own self so I just wanted to right something generate a positive message so that atleast someone gets a bit of understanding that I was deprived of in my past. Hopefully that way they wouldn’t suffer the way I did mentally, thanks for taking out time to go through my poem 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Beautiful words and a truly beautiful soul it took to write that πŸ™‚ I believe those of us with the most beautiful of souls are those that see more of the horror in life and are therefor far more affected. Some of us who suffer the worst can be those that happen to care the most. Therefor people that go to avoid us in our suffering could be missing out on such a wonderful friend. There is no cure unfortunately for a lot of mental illnessess but to be surrounded by those people that did not give up on us is the best medicine and to share it with others of course πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Based on my own past traumas I agree with you, compassion & understanding are the best cure really. Extending a helping hand with an earnest intention of compassion, instead of belittling the person can make a world of difference. Thanks for your lovely comment it certainly made my day πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all, a very beautifully written poem. ❀️ It’s heart wrenching.

    And I totally agree to the people’s behavior towards psychology affected people. Thanks for writing this post so that we can make some change in our mindsets.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes even the mighty ocean is made up of tiny drops , so if every individual embraces compassion towards one another then this world would certainly be a better place to live in.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is very well written. My sibling went through a phase similar to this so I can relate to this. I concur with you and the rest that if we extend compassion instead of belittling them, it can help them overcome depression overtime. Thanks for sharing this post 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy that your thoughts also echo the same sentiment, thanks for your readership. Hope your sibling is doing fine now give my regards to him/her πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. When I lost my dad to cancer, it seemed as if the world had turned against me, it seemed as if everyone saw my misery as their source of entertainment. I’ll never forget those depressing days although now times have changed but I can certainly empathize with someone’s emotional struggle & I know what’s it like when people mock & turn their backs on you. I’m delighted that you appreciate this poem πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Reading this brought back memories of my darkest times. The feelings u describe are real but people think because there are no physical disabilities that nothing is wrong. I’m thankful for the close friends i have for helping me get thru it. My family had no compassion. I was told to “JUST GET OVER IT”. It’s not something u just get over. Thank you for writting this…hopefully people will have a better understanding what depression does to someone.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. True sometimes we all yearn for compassion and understanding. These emotions are something that we must generate from our end towards others even if we ourselves don’t receive it first to make living condition better for all. That’s how we would be able to force a positive change I feel. 😊 Thanks for expressing & sharing your feelings

        Like

      1. The main objective of my poems is to touch the lives of people in a positive way, thanks for your support and your kindness to share my message with others. I was deeply impressed by your project believe in yourself… Keep up with the good work 😊

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for such a heart warming feedback, your kind words really encourage more to write more, thanks for your readership & support. I look forward to reading some of your writings as well

      Liked by 1 person

  4. An amazing poem and message. People are often far too judgmental or if not they don’t know how to help. People in the situation you described often just need someone to talk to and simply be a friend. Take care and keep up the great writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes moral support & expressing a will to understand the problems of a person going through tough times surely would drive in a positive change. Thanks for expressing your thoughts and providing a positive feedback😊

      Like

      1. Yes, but in my case, they’re metaphorical scars πŸ˜› that’s the beauty of poetry, it can be interpreted in many different ways but still have the same powerful core message.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes as a poet trying to establish a direct heart to heart bond with my readers, I feel my poems belong to my readers as much as they belong to me. So yes everyone is free to interpret them in whatever way pleases them. The main objective of my poems is to touch lives in a positive sense 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You are very right, I look forward to reading more of your poems! You definitely have a way with words and the ability to captivate people. At times I feel as if I’m being too personal on my blog, but I guess that’s what blogging is all about, a place to show who you really are and a platform to connect with other people.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I completely agree with you on the personal aspect of your life, you know honestly speaking I started this blog when I was in a very negative mindset, but being a loner in real life I kind of tend to bottle down my emotions but then at one point of time there came a saturation point & I couldn’t take it anymore. I felt as if in some way or the other everyone was mocking at my misery! That’s when I started this blog, I created my own world with the emotions that I bottled down for years. So yea I too share of my personal feelings through the medium of my blog. I’m deeply grateful to you for going through my writings & thinking so highly about me. I look forward to reading more of your writings as well, you certainly are a talented writer yourself & I’m glad we interacted, please do keep in touch friend😊

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Wow! I also started writing when I was at a low point in my life but I didn’t start posting anything until I was finally coming out of it. Writing is a way to vent out your thoughts and feelings especially when you feel like these aren’t things you can easily share with someone in real life; things you struggle to talk about. My brother read some of my writing and encouraged me to start blogging and now that I have, I’m really glad. Based on what you said, I think you may be able to relate to this https://tejasvikashyap.wordpress.com/2017/01/09/the-flower-vase/
        Let me know what you think πŸ™‚
        And, I’m also glad we interacted πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      6. What a coincidence, but I guess it’s something nice that creativity was able to bloom when we were in our depressing phases of life & sure would love to give it a read thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I being a victim of depression & helplessness in the past didn’t have the luxury of receiving moral support, now that things are somewhat better at my end I just thought penning down a message for anyone who might be going through a similar struggle that I was going through in my past. Hope this poem gives them hope πŸ™‚ Thanks for taking out time to go through my post !

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes the scars of sorrow & depression on my soul were pretty deep in the past as well, so it’s something that I strongly felt & had a first hand experience of. Thanks for your readership and your valuable feedback. Your encouraging words mean the world to me. Do stay in touch dear friend 😊

      Like

    2. Yes the scars of sorrow & depression on my soul were pretty deep in the past as well, so it’s something that I strongly felt & had a first hand experience of. Thanks for your readership and your valuable feedback. Your encouraging words mean the world to me. Do stay in touch dear friend 😊

      Like

  5. Not many people talk about mental issues this positively in this world. It’s worthwhile reading your piece of work. It expressed warmth. I’m a psychology student and this spoke to me. And the way you chose to write “I empathize” and not sympathise shows you know about the topic pretty well.
    Thank you for writing this. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea I had my share of psychological issues in the past, they say a person values something that he is deprived of. That’s why I guess value the sentiment of understanding because I myself was deprived of it in my bad phase. I do empathize with anyone going through an emotional struggle & hope that my words in some way can provide them with some sort of comfort. By the way psychology is a very interesting subject the way it lays emphasis on thoughts, feelings and emotions really appeals to me, I bet being a student of psychology will help you bloom into an incredible writer. Thanks for your generous words, I look forward to reading more of your works soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Apologises for my delay in getting around to looking at work. I have just emailed you regarding this. I am really enjoying your poems and short stories, they are definitely different. Keep it up!!!

    All the best
    Travellerr

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s okay! I too get caught up with various things in my life & tend to reply late at times, so I completely understand really. I’m glad you like my writings, nothing brings me more joy than a satisfied reader. I’ll go through your mail & will revert to it, thanks for dropping in your valuable feedback πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

