A Child’s Smile

It was a depressing dark night
Tears dribbled, my demons won the fight.
In darkness as I secretly cried
I heard an innocent soul giggle & smile.

A child was playing in the dark
carefree & sinless was his heart.
Amidst the darkness of the night
The boy laughed & smiled bright.
 
His laughter reminded me of my past
I recalled my childhood, that depleted fast.
Those were days when I had no worries
life was peaceful, blessed with luxuries.

My smile faded away with time
By life’s hardships I was victimized.
Just then the child held my hand
I felt as if my sorrow he understands.

I saw the child’s hopeful smile
There was a blissful twinkle in his eye.
Amidst my depression I realized
The child was a younger reflection of mine.    
 
Dawn breaks, the sun begins to shine
The child’s smile motivates me to rise.
Fulfilling child’s dream is a duty of mine
Unlike me, on his smile he’ll never compromise.

pencil_sketch_1481046469313

Note:- I personally feel that dull is the soul of a person who cannot cherish & admire the innocence that oozes out from the smile of a child. Through the medium of this poem I want to convey that every child in his/her own right is a promise for tomorrow & a blessing for today. This poem also aims to highlight the value of mutual respect between younger & older generation.

Please feel free to reach out to me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/enigma09

or you if you feel like connecting with me on KIK , my KIK ID is:  sidharth.enigma

2 thoughts on “A Child’s Smile

  1. for u will see urself in every soul or u wil see the magnificence of life in each soul the bliss of creation also the darkness of its root sources the light of love ever even the greatest of sadness or the greatest potential and become lost or found for this is the secret in life to know thyself and to give link love thanku sid ihope u look further thru all eyes even urs aahlin linda

    Like

  2. and here i sit feeling dull, till the moment i am brought to the child’s light. when the writer portrays the soul of a child, smiles upon even the dullest soul, will awaken for a time and remember the joy that a child feels in its heart. thank you again my friend for dusting me off spiritually to be whole for my grandchild tomorrow as he celebrates his 11th year. the nearness of the ages is everything to me my friend, when i was young i cared for for the old, as i age i long for the youth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

