A Rebel’s Rhyme

Running wild, running free
Breaking rigid rules of the society.
I’m a rebel at heart
Heartbeat of a revolution, that will start.

I hear a woman’s silent cry
I see a child’s dreams crumble & die.
I’m a rebel at heart
Heartbeat of a revolution, that will start.

I feel the agony of the poor, weak
& of helpless victims of society’s stern critique.
I’m a rebel at heart
Heartbeat of a revolution, that will start.

I’m a living, breathing symbol of revolt
An ideology that refuses to die or get old.
Against unjust I have the courage to say ‘no’
With time, my voice’s magnitude will grow.

I don’t need weapons in this fight
I’ll raise my voice to fight for my right.
Against our oppressors, as I wage a war
Even the deaf, will hear my revolutionary roar.

So join me & hold my hand  
With me, take a bold stand.
We are rebels at heart
Together our revolution, will now start.

clenched-fist-vector

Note: There is a rebel in everyone of us, a rebel that hates the double standard & hypocrisy of the society. There are various social factors that manipulate & deprive us, from our own rights. This poem aims to bring out that hidden rebel within us, who isn’t afraid to spark a revolution for a right cause & if need be isn’t afraid to walk alone if others don’t join in. Lastly would  just like to add that we all need a psychological revolution to force a positive change in the society. We don’t need violence to prove our point, we need a sense of unity & brotherhood amongst ourselves to generate this positive change in our society.

Leave a Reply

