The Nightingale

The Nightingale

It was a tormenting night
When my depression, became my kryptonite.
I tried to be strong with all my might
But depression won, I lost the fight.

Walking outside in the dark
I experienced pain in my heart.
My hope seemed to be torn apart
From my life, as  I saw happiness depart.

Walking outside I saw a nightingale, fragile & old
It sang a melody which overpowered the harsh cold.
Nightingale’s melody had fortitude & was bold
It inspired me, in ways that can’t be told.

That nightingale made me realize
Every now & then, our hopes tend to die.
& even when, we feel helpless & fragile
We shouldn’t give up, we must rise.

The nightingale was a symbol of hope
against the poison depression, it was my antidote.
Unforgettable were the melody’s mesmerizing musical notes
In my heart the nightingale’s memory shall forever float.

nightingale

 

Note : In life depression & hardships can mentally paralyze a person, life seems meaningless then. But it’s at this point in life when a source of inspiration can ignite hope & provide a meaningful direction to our respective lives. In this poem I have used the symbol of nightingale to highlight that source of incorruptible inspiration that can galvanize a depressed heart with a sense of hope.

3 thoughts on “The Nightingale

Leave a Reply

